Compare
Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw
Both are free, open-source personal agents you run yourself and talk to in chat apps. OpenClaw is the better-known one with desktop and phone apps; Hermes Agent adds self-made skills, scheduling and optional paid hosting.
At a glance
| Fact | Hermes Agent | OpenClaw |
|---|---|---|
| Made by | Nous Research | OpenClaw Foundation |
| What it is | An agent from Nous Research that remembers over time, works in messaging apps, runs scheduled tasks and browses the web. | Open-source personal assistant you run on your own devices and reach through messaging apps. |
| Price | Free, paid from $20/month | No subscription and no hosted plan. You pay separately for the AI model, hosting and any other services |
| Runs on | macOS, Windows, Linux, CLI, Telegram, Slack, WhatsApp | macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, WhatsApp, Telegram, CLI |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Models | Not stated | Not stated |
| Last verified | October 14, 2026 | October 14, 2026 |
| Official site | hermes-agent.nousresearch.com | openclaw.ai |
Where they differ
- Price: both are free software; you pay for models and hosting. Hermes also offers paid hosted plans from $20/month.
- Chat apps: OpenClaw lists WhatsApp and Telegram; Hermes lists Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp and Signal.
- Extras: Hermes creates its own skills and runs isolated subagents; OpenClaw has desktop and mobile apps.
Which to pick
Choose Hermes Agent if you want more chat apps, natural-language scheduling or a hosted option.
Choose OpenClaw if you want the most popular self-hosted assistant with its own apps.
Keep looking
- Hermes Agent listing
- OpenClaw listing
- Hermes Agent alternatives
- OpenClaw alternatives
- Codex vs Hermes Agent
- Manus vs OpenClaw
Facts from each maker's official pages, last verified October 14, 2026. How we verify.